Of Gardens and Growth

I’ve been spending a lot of time in the garden over the past several weeks. I have been a dirty, dirty woman. I am the kind of lady that goes out to just “check on” the garden and suddenly finds that she’s been outside for an hour and has now ruined her third pair of non-gardening shoes.

Spontaneous is the nice word for that.

As usual, the flowers get most of the attention from the camera. The veggies are just not exciting enough yet. Their time will come.

So far we have planted zucchini, tomatoes, tomatillos, bell peppers, asparagus, beets, lettuce, sunflowers, calendulas, hollyhocks, wild flowers, basil, parsley, cilantro, green onions, green beans, dill, kale, lemon balm, bee balm, anise hyssop, johnny jump-ups… what else? I can’t remember it all. Soon it should be quite verdant. I hope. I have a perpetual fear that the seeds I plant will not grow for some reason. I know that statement is chock full of spiritual significance.

Do you garden? What have you planted this year? What are you most excited about?

6 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I kill plants. Not on purpose, but…I just don’t have that green thumb. Your flowers are gorgeous! As are your photos…as usual!

  2. Your flowers are beautiful! Great photography!

  3. Wow – what beautiful flowers! I had to comment because I do exactly what you do – I go outside for a breath of air and suddenly I’m covered in dirt and have whiled away a half hour! But it’s so relaxing and so rewarding to see something grow under your care.

  4. Love the bug. Just sayin’ – he’s cute.

  5. Gorgeous flower pics! Love to garden, nothing growing this year since just moved to a new place. I always plant too many seeds indoors then struggle to get them in the ground. 🙂

What are your thoughts?

