Love you like a bunny

Shawn, I love you
Today like I always do,
Like as unto a little bunny.
Your hair is fluffy,
Your ears are cute,
And when you’re a nut,
I call you Honey.
Shawn, I love you today like Nacho
Loves Encarnacion.
I’ll crunch toast with you,
Write you love songs too
And everything you love
Are my favorite things too.
And when we’re together
And you’re on your phone
I slap it and say with grace,
“Come to my quarters for toast and Get that phone outta my face!!”
Shawn, I love you today
Like a snowpocalypse
Or like a zombie apocalypse
Or like an enormous
Pair of lips.
Though they seem really different
And juxtaposed, I love
That you love me for wanting
To make them all rhyme
And then including a word like juxtaposed which can only, at best, have a near rhyme like,
Decomposed.
Shawn, I love you like
A hundred years
And like an hour.
I love you with dinners
And poems and flowers.
I love you with much
And I love you with little,
(And as an aside, I’m glad our kids are learning to whittle),
I love you with weakness
And I love you with strength,
I love you with depth
And I’ll love you at length.
I love you today and I’ll love you tomorrow.
And I’ll love you in joy
and also in sorrow.
I love you when the skies are purple and blue
And I love you when the skies are pink and orange.
How cruelly beautiful is it to end this rhyming poem with a word like orange?
And a question?

What are your thoughts?

